Frequently Asked Questions

What can the National Inquiry do?

The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls will look at the web of services and programs that are meant to create healthy, protective and livable communities across Canada. The National Inquiry will look at how these services and programs affect Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ people as well as the families that are missing loved ones. The National Inquiry will look into:

  • Systemic causes of all forms of violence – including sexual violence – against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ throughout Canada;
  • Underlying social, economic, cultural, institutional and historical causes contributing to the ongoing violence and particular vulnerabilities of Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ in Canada, and;
  • Institutional policies and practices implemented in response to violence against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ in Canada, including the identification and examination of practices that have been effective in reducing violence and increasing safety;

To do this work, the Commissioners have been authorized to utilize several strategies, including:

  • Holding public hearings in locations across the country to hear the stories of families of missing or murdered Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ as well as those who have experienced violence;
  • Collecting the advice of Elders, of Indigenous and non-Indigenous organizations, experts, academics, officials and public workers;
  • Gathering, privately, the stories and experiences of friends and family of murdered or missing Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ and those who have survived violence;
  • Establishing regional, issue-specific advisory bodies who can bring relevant information to the attention of the Inquiry;
  • Referring incidents of illegal or improper behaviour by police, social workers and others to the relevant authorities, which may include the relevant Minister(s) within federal and/or provincial governments, or international bodies;
  • Operating in each province and territory, in addition to exercising the federal jurisdiction, as it has been empowered by the provincial and territorial governments. 

How will families and Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have experienced violence be treated by the National Inquiry?

  • The National Inquiry will make available culturally appropriate and trauma-informed counselling services to the families of missing and murdered women, girls and 2SLBTQ and those women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have experienced violence, for the duration of their appearance before the Commissioners, and;
  • Information will be collected from those who volunteer to tell their stories in private or through a public process.

What will happen at the end of the National Inquiry?

  • The National Inquiry will operate from September 1, 2016 to December 31, 2018 or 2 years and 4 months;
  • An interim report setting out preliminary findings and recommendations will be completed by November 1, 2017;
  • The Final Report on the findings and recommendations of the Inquiry will be completed by November 1, 2018;
  • The Commissioners will make recommendations for concrete and effective action that can be taken to remove the systemic causes of violence and increase the safety of Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ;
  • For a transition period after the National Inquiry, Family Information and Liaison Units (FILUs) in provinces and territories will provide access to emotional and mental support for the families and the Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have experienced violence (note: FILUs are not managed by the National Inquiry).

What the National Inquiry cannot do

  • The National Inquiry cannot investigate or re-investigate cases of missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ, or of women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have experienced violence;
  • The National Inquiry cannot provide monetary compensation or restitution to anyone;

What is the present work of the National Inquiry?

  • The initial work of the National Inquiry, since it was given its mandate on September 1st, 2016, has been to build the infrastructure and hire the personnel needed to carry out this important work;
  • Commissioners and staff are reviewing the pre-Inquiry work and past research on the related topics, and are designing a trauma-informed process to receive the statements and testimonies of families and of Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have experienced violence;
  • In addition, the National Inquiry is working toward the inclusion of Indigenous protocols and practices within its hearing process;
  • A trauma-informed process is one that recognizes that testifying about one’s traumatic experiences can lead to a re-traumatization. The National Inquiry will be guided by the principle, “Do No Harm”.

When will families be able to tell their stories?

  • The National Inquiry understands that those who have experienced violence and the families of survivors are anxious to have an opportunity to be heard. Towards that end, the National Inquiry is committed to designing a process which will respect the Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have experienced violence, families, and all those who need to be heard, and will promote reconciliation and healing across the country.
  • Planning and consultation meetings with families, women, Elders and others to build a healthy process is ongoing;
  • It is anticipated that, in addition to meeting with advisors and families to set up the process, the National Inquiry will be able to start receiving information from families and the Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have experienced violence, formally, in the spring of 2017.

Where will families be able to tell their stories?

  • There will be hearings held in communities across Canada that welcome the National Inquiry;
  • If a family or Indigenous woman, girl or 2SLBTQ who has experienced violence does not want to speak in public at the hearing, they may speak to the Commissioner without the public present or they can ask the Commissioner to order that their identity be kept private from the public at large or the media;
  • If a family or an Indigenous women, girl or 2SLBTQ who has experienced violence prefers, a Statement Taker can meet with them in a mutually-acceptable location.

How will families be involved in the process?

  • The National Inquiry is creating a family-first process, which means that its process is set up to ensure women, girls, 2SLBTQ and families are included and feel safe and comfortable in sharing their concerns, stories and suggestions for eliminating violence and resolving the tragedy of loved ones not coming home;
  • Participation by the families, women, girls and 2SLBTQ is voluntary;
  • Those who chose to participate will be respected and heard;
  • The National Inquiry will have a range of options for family and Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have experienced violence to tell their stories: public hearings with the Commissioners; private hearings with the Commissioners; and individual interviews, in private, with Statement Takers.
  • At official testimony gathering events, a family spokesperson may tell the story of their lost loved one - their life, personality and the issues that may have led to their loss.
  • There are many families who want to tell their stories, and the National Inquiry wants to give every family a chance to tell their experience;
  • All family members will be asked to self-identify, tell the story of the loved-one they lost, and provide the National Inquiry with their thoughts and feelings in either verbal, written, recorded, or artistic forms.
  • The spokesperson for a family doesn’t have to be a family member. Once a family identifies a spokesperson for an official National Inquiry event that spokesperson will be provided with travel support.
  • Unfortunately, there are too many families who have been touched by this issue to provide travel and accommodation for all. Other options for contact will be available to gather every family’s experience.
  • The process and infrastructure for self-identifying is still being set up. At this time, we encourage families to subscribe to our website – mmiwg-ffada.ca – where updates will be posted.

What does systemic mean? 

  • The National Inquiry is mandated to review systemic causes of all forms of violence – including sexual violence – against Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ in Canada;
  • This means that the Commissioners will examine root causes of violence which are commonly suffered by Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ with a view to detecting common trends across the country which contribute to the high incidence of violence, suffered disproportionately, by these women, girls and 2SLBTQ; 
  • Under a systemic review, individual cases will not be investigated (or re-investigated if already investigated by the police) in a detailed way. They will be examined only to the extent necessary to reveal those common threads and factors which cause this national tragedy;
  • This collective information will then be used to inform recommendations to be made by the Commissioners aimed at reducing the high rate of violent acts experienced by Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ in Canada and promoting a healthier, safer environment for them.

What does a trauma-informed process mean?

  • Trauma-informed means designing a legal fact-finding process, that will minimize the chance and/or extent that the women, girls, 2SLBTQ and family members who wish to share their information and stories with the Commissioners will be re-traumatized (or re-triggered) through relaying their painful experiences;
  • There are tools available to the Commissioners to achieve this goal including:
  • Issuing a publication ban on the identities of those women, girls, 2SLBTQ and family members testifying about their traumatic and deeply personal experiences who wish to keep their identities out of the media and the public eye;
  • Declaring the hearing to be “in camera” (meaning confidential) and excluding the public and media where women, girls, 2SLBTQ and family members require such privacy in order to safely tell their stories to the Commissioners;
  • Permitting stories to be told in creative methods which allow the women, girls, 2SLBTQ and family members to relay their message to the Commissioners, such as through poetry, music or art;
  • Stories in writing or to be told to trained counselors as “Statement Takers”;
  • Ensuring that any questioning of witnesses, which may be permitted, is done in a respectful way, without any rape myths or negative stereotypical images;
  • Configuring the hearing room in a way which is respectful of the cultural norms of the women, girls, 2SLBTQ and family members testifying;
  • Ensuring that Indigenous ceremonies are observed as requested by the people testifying to help them be strong, safe and healthy;
  • Ensure Elders, healers and/or support people to be present if requested by the women, girls, 2SLBTQ and family members testifying to help them be strong, safe and healthy;
  • Ensure to the best ability of the Commission that appropriate interpreters are available so that the people testifying can do so in their Indigenous language;
  • Have counselors available to the women, girls, 2SLBTQ and family members immediately before, during and after the hearing, with the possibility of longer term counselling;
  • Special (added) protections in place for girls (minors) who wish to share their painful experiences with the Commissioners.
  • The Commission recognizes that some women, girls, 2SLBTQ and family members may wish to tell their stories in public to shine a light on the journey they have taken.  The above tools are simply options which can be utilized where appropriate.  The overriding objective is to encourage the telling of experiences in a truthful, empowering, and safe/healthy manner.
  • The Commission is actively consulting, and carefully studying the pre-Inquiry cross-country consultation process which took place in 2015, with a view to designing a trauma-informed process which will be most likely to achieve its overriding objective.  It will issue a document which will outline this process, prior to the commencement of the public hearings, and will post it on this website.

 

Is this National Inquiry another Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) or Residential School Independent Assessment Process (IAP)?

  • In short, the National Inquiry is neither the TRC or the IAP, nor will its processes replicate those fact-finding processes;
  • The National Inquiry  has legal powers and responsibilities, and a purpose, different from the TRC or IAP;
  • For example, the TRC and IAP had fact finding processes which had to meet a level of “proof” which would warrant the award of compensation.  The National Inquiry does not have the power to award any compensation; 
  • Its purpose is simply to find the truth underlying why Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ are so victimized by violence, so often the subject of “unsolved” crimes, missing, and murdered in numbers disproportionate to other Canadians;
  • It has the mandate to educate the public, to facilitate healing of traumatized communities, to restore public confidence in institutions that have been seriously damaged in the eyes of Canadians, and to make recommendations for action and policy reform aimed at effecting real changes to make Indigenous women and girls safe, sacred, honoured and empowered.

 

What will families and Indigenous women and girls who have experienced violence be able to share?

  • The Commissioners want families and the Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have experienced violence to be able to share their stories in numerous ways, including, official testimony gathering.
  • The National Inquiry will also receive art pieces, writings, scripts, videos, oral history and numerous other ways to deliver the stories of missing and murdered Indigenous women, girls and others who have experienced violence, as well as the surrounding issues.

 

How will the missing and murdered Indigenous women and girls be honoured?

  • This question is a major part of the National Inquiry’s mandate. In order to honour the women, girls and 2SLBTQ who have been lost to us the National Inquiry wants to hear from the Indigenous and Canadian public.
  • How would YOU like to see Indigenous women, girls and 2SLBTQ honoured?
  • Please use our website to share your ideas.

Foire aux questions

Que peut accomplir l’Enquête nationale?

L’Enquête nationale sur les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones disparues et assassinées examinera le réseau de services et de programmes visant à créer des collectivités saines, sécuritaires et durables partout au Canada. Elle examinera l’incidence de ces services et de ces programmes sur les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones ainsi que les familles de proches disparus. L’Enquête se penchera sur les points suivants :

  • Les causes systémiques de toutes les formes de violence, y compris la violence sexuelle, à l’égard des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones au Canada.
  • Les causes sociales, économiques, culturelles, institutionnelles et historiques sous-jacentes qui contribuent à perpétuer la violence et les vulnérabilités particulières des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones au Canada.
  • Les politiques et les pratiques institutionnelles mises en place en réponse à la violence à l’égard des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones au Canada, y compris le recensement et l’examen des pratiques éprouvées de réduction de la violence et de renforcement de la sécurité.

Pour faire ce travail, les commissaires ont été autorisés à utiliser plusieurs stratégies, notamment :

  • Tenir des audiences publiques dans divers endroits au pays pour entendre les témoignages des familles des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones disparues et assassinées ainsi que ceux des personnes qui ont été victimes de violence.
  • Recueillir les conseils des aînés, des organisations autochtones et non autochtones, des experts, des universitaires, des représentants et des fonctionnaires.
  • Recueillir, en privé, les histoires et les expériences des amis et des familles de femmes, de filles et de 2SLBTQ autochtones disparues et assassinées ainsi que ceux des personnes qui ont survécu à la violence.
  • Établir des comités consultatifs régionaux chargés de l’étude de questions particulières qui peuvent apporter des renseignements pertinents à l’attention de l’Enquête.
  • Signaler les cas de comportement illégal ou inopportun de la part d’agents de police, de travailleurs sociaux et d’autres personnes aux autorités concernées. Il peut s’agir du ou des ministres concernés des gouvernements fédéral ou provinciaux, ou d’organismes internationaux.
  • Siéger dans chaque province et territoire en plus d’exercer les pouvoirs fédéraux que lui ont conférés les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux.

Quel traitement l’Enquête nationale accordera-t-elle aux familles et aux femmes, filles et 2SLBTQ qui ont été victimes de violence?

  • L’Enquête nationale offrira des services de counseling adaptés à la culture et aux traumatismes subis par les familles de femmes, de filles et de 2SLBTQ autochtones disparues et assassinées ainsi qu’aux femmes, filles et 2SLBTQ qui ont été victimes de violence, durant leur comparution devant les commissaires.
  • Les renseignements seront recueillis auprès de celles qui sont prêtes à raconter leurs histoires en privé ou dans le cadre d’un processus public.

Qu’arrivera-t-il à la fin de l’Enquête nationale?

  • Le mandat de l’Enquête nationale s’étale du 1er septembre 2016 au 31 décembre 2018, soit pendant deux ans et quatre mois.
  • Un rapport provisoire énonçant les recommandations et les constatations préliminaires sera achevé d’ici le 1er novembre 2017.
  • Le rapport final sur les conclusions et les recommandations de l’Enquête sera terminé d’ici le 1er novembre 2018.
  • Les commissaires formuleront des recommandations sur des mesures pratiques et concrètes pouvant être prises pour éradiquer les causes systémiques de la violence et renforcer la sécurité des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones.
  • Pendant une période de transition après l’Enquête nationale, les familles et les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones ayant été victimes de violence auront accès à des services de soutien émotionnel et psychologique par l’entremise des unités d’information et de liaison avec les familles (UILF) existant dans les provinces et les territoires (note : les UILF ne sont pas gérées par l’Enquête nationale).

Qu’est-ce que l’Enquête nationale ne peut pas faire?

  • Elle ne peut pas enquêter ou mener de nouvelles enquêtes sur les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones disparues et assassinées, ou sur les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones ayant été victimes de violence.
  • Elle ne peut pas indemniser ou dédommager qui que ce soit.

En quoi consiste actuellement le travail de l’Enquête nationale?

  • Depuis qu’elle a reçu son mandat le 1er septembre 2016, l’Enquête nationale s’efforce de créer l’infrastructure et d’embaucher le personnel nécessaire pour mener à bien ce travail important.
  • Les commissaires et leur personnel étudient les travaux réalisés avant le début de l’Enquête et les recherches antérieures sur des sujets connexes, et travaillent à l’élaboration d’un processus qui tient compte des traumatismes subis pour recevoir les déclarations et les témoignages des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ qui ont été victimes de violence et des familles.
  • L’Enquête nationale travaille également sur l’inclusion de protocoles et de pratiques autochtones dans son processus d’audience.
  • Un processus qui tient compte des traumatismes subis reconnaît que le fait de témoigner sur ses propres expériences traumatisantes peut causer un nouveau traumatisme. L’Enquête nationale se fondera sur le principe de ne « pas causer de tort ».

Quand les familles pourront-elles raconter leurs histoires?

  • L’Enquête nationale est consciente que les personnes ayant été victimes de violence et leurs familles ont hâte d’avoir l’occasion de se faire entendre. À cette fin, elle s’engage à concevoir un processus qui respectera les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones ayant été victimes de violence, les familles, et tous ceux et celles qui ont besoin de se faire entendre, et fera la promotion de la réconciliation et de la guérison partout au pays.
  • Les réunions de planification et de consultation avec les familles, les femmes, les aînés et d’autres personnes visant à établir un processus sain ont commencé et se poursuivront au début de 2017.
  • En plus de rencontrer les conseillers et les familles pour mettre le processus en place, on prévoit que l’Enquête nationale pourra commencer à recevoir officiellement des renseignements des familles, des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones ayant été victimes de violence au printemps 2017.

Où les familles pourront-elles raconter leurs histoires?

  • Des audiences seront tenues dans les collectivités de partout au pays qui auront invité l’Enquête nationale.
  • Si une famille ou des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones ayant été victimes de violence ne veulent pas prendre la parole en public lors de l’audience, elles peuvent demander au commissaire qu’il ordonne que leur identité ne soit pas divulguée au grand public ou dans les médias.
  • Si une famille ou des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones ayant été victimes de violence le préfèrent, un responsable qualifié pour consigner des témoignages peut la ou les rencontrer dans un emplacement mutuellement acceptable.

  

Comment les familles participeront-elles au processus?

  • L’Enquête nationale est en train de créer un processus axé sur la famille. Ce processus vise ainsi à s’assurer que les femmes, les filles, les 2SLBTQ et les familles sont incluses et se sentent en sécurité et à l’aise pour partager leurs préoccupations, leurs histoires et leurs suggestions pour éliminer la violence et résoudre la tragédie des êtres chers qui ne reviennent pas à la maison.
  • La participation des familles, des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ est volontaire.
  • Celles qui choisissent de participer seront respectées et entendues.
  • Les familles, les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones ayant été victimes de violence qui souhaitent raconter leurs histoires disposeront d’une gamme d’options lors de l’Enquête nationale : audiences publiques devant les commissaires; audiences privées devant les commissaires; entrevues individuelles, en privé, avec un responsable qualifié pour consigner des témoignages.
  • Lors des activités officielles de recueil de témoignages, un porte-parole de la famille pourra raconter l’histoire, la vie et la personnalité d’un être cher qu’elle a perdu, et aborder les problèmes qui pourraient avoir mené à la perte de cet être cher.
  • Il y a beaucoup de familles qui veulent raconter leurs histoires, et l’Enquête nationale veut donner la chance à chaque famille de relater leur expérience.
  • Tous les membres des familles devront s’identifier, raconter l’histoire de l’être cher qu’ils ont perdu, et faire connaître leurs réflexions et leurs sentiments à l’Enquête nationale de façon verbale, écrite, consignée ou artistique.
  • Le porte-parole de la famille ne doit pas nécessairement être un membre de la famille. Une fois qu’une famille aura nommé un porte-parole pour une activité officielle de l’Enquête nationale, cette personne recevra des services de soutien pour ses déplacements.
  • Malheureusement, il y a trop de familles qui ont été touchées par ces enjeux et il est impossible d’assumer les frais de déplacement et d’hébergement pour toutes ces personnes. D’autres options de communication seront disponibles pour recueillir l’expérience vécue par toutes les familles.
  • Le processus d’identification personnelle est en cours d’élaboration. Pour le moment, nous invitons les familles à s’inscrire sur notre site Web, mmiwg-ffada.ca, où ils pourront trouver les mises à jour.

Qu’entend-on par systémique

  • L’Enquête nationale a comme mandat d’examiner les causes systémiques de toutes formes de violence, y compris la violence sexuelle, à l’égard des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones au Canada.
  • Cela signifie que les commissaires examineront les causes profondes de la violence que subissent couramment les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones dans le but de déceler les tendances communes au pays qui contribuent à l’incidence élevée de la violence faite, de manière disproportionnée, à ces femmes, à ces filles et à ces 2SLBTQ; 
  • Dans le cadre d’un examen systématique, les cas individuels ne feront pas l’objet d’une enquête détaillée (ou d’une nouvelle enquête s’ils fonts déjà l’objet d’une enquête policière). Ils seront plutôt examinés de manière à faire ressortir les points et les facteurs communs qui causent cette tragédie nationale.
  • Ces renseignements collectifs serviront ensuite à orienter les recommandations que formuleront les commissaires pour réduire le taux élevé d’actes de violence à l’égard des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones au Canada et promouvoir un environnement plus sain et plus sécuritaire pour ces victimes.

 

Qu’entend-on par processus qui tient compte des traumatismes subis?

  • Il s’agit d’un processus de recherche de faits juridiques, qui réduira le risque que les femmes, les filles, les 2SLBTQ et les membres des familles, qui souhaitent partager leurs renseignements ou leurs histoires avec les commissaires, subissent un nouveau traumatisme en décrivant leurs expériences douloureuses.
  • Les commissaires disposent d’outils pour atteindre cet objectif. Ils peuvent notamment :
  • Délivrer une ordonnance de non-publication au sujet de l’identité des femmes, des filles, des 2SLBTQ et des membres de la famille qui témoignent au sujet de leurs expériences traumatisantes les plus intimes et qui souhaitent que leur identité ne soit pas rendue publique;
  • Déclarer que l’audience se tient à huis clos (c’est-à-dire que son contenu est confidentiel) et exclure les membres du public ainsi que les représentants des médias lorsque les femmes, les filles, les 2SLBTQ et les membres de la famille l’exigent de manière à raconter leurs récits aux commissaires en toute sécurité;
  • Permettre que ces récits soient relatés de manière créative afin de permettre aux femmes, aux filles, aux 2SLBTQ et aux membres de la famille de transmettre leurs messages aux commissaires par le truchement de différents moyens, comme la poésie, la musique ou l’art;
  • Accepter les récits par écrit et ceux racontés par des conseillers professionnels ayant qualité de personnes chargées d’obtenir des déclarations;
  • Lorsqu’il est permis de poser des questions aux témoins, veiller à ce que cela se déroule dans le respect sans aucune référence aux mythes sur le viol et en évitant de tomber dans les stéréotypes négatifs;
  • Aménager la salle en tenant compte des normes culturelles des femmes, des filles, des 2SLBTQ et des membres de la famille qui témoignent;
  • À la demande des personnes qui témoignent, veiller au respect des cérémonies autochtones de manière à les aider à rester fortes et à témoigner de manière sécuritaire et saine;
  • À la demande des femmes, des filles, des 2SLBTQ et des membres de la famille qui témoignent, veiller à ce que les aînés, les guérisseurs et les personnes de confiance soient présents pour les aider à rester fortes et à témoigner de manière sécuritaire et saine;
  • Veiller à ce que les interprètes compétents soient à la disposition des personnes qui témoignent afin que ces dernières puissent témoigner dans leur langue autochtone;
  • Veiller à ce que des conseillers soient à la disposition des femmes, des filles et des membres de la famille immédiatement avant, pendant et après l’audience, avec possibilité, pour ces personnes, d’avoir accès à des services de counseling à long terme;
  • Veiller à assurer une protection (supplémentaire) pour les filles (d’âge mineur) qui souhaitent faire part aux commissaires de leurs douloureuses expériences.
  • L’Enquête nationale reconnaît que certaines femmes, filles, 2SLBTQ et membres de la famille puissent souhaiter raconter leurs récits en public pour mettre en lumière le cheminement qu’ils ont suivi. Les outils susmentionnés sont tout simplement des options qui peuvent être utilisées au besoin. L’objectif principal est d’encourager ces personnes à raconter leurs expériences de façon franche, habilitante, sécuritaire et saine.
  • L’Enquête nationale examine activement, et étudie soigneusement le processus de consultation pancanadien qui a eu lieu avant la tenue de l’Enquête en 2015, en vue de concevoir un processus qui tient compte des traumatismes subis et grâce auquel elle sera plus susceptible d’atteindre son objectif principal. Elle diffusera un document qui expliquera ce processus, avant le début des audiences publiques, et qui sera affiché sur ce site Web.

 

L’Enquête nationale est-elle semblable à la Commission de vérité et réconciliation (CVR) ou au Processus d’évaluation indépendant (PEI) relatif aux pensionnats indiens?

  • En résumé, l’Enquête nationale n’est pas comme la CVR ou le PEI, et ses processus seront différents des processus visant à établir les faits.
  • Les pouvoirs juridiques, les responsabilités et l’objectif de l’Enquête nationale diffèrent de ceux de la CVR et du PEI.
  • Par exemple, la CVR et le PEI avaient des processus visant à établir les faits qui devaient respecter un niveau de « preuve » qui justifierait l’octroi d’une indemnité. L’Enquête nationale n’a pas ce pouvoir d’octroyer des indemnités.
  • Elle vise simplement à découvrir la vérité expliquant les raisons pour lesquelles les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones sont tant victimes de violence, font si souvent l’objet de crimes « non élucidés », disparaissent, et sont, de manière disproportionnée par rapport aux autres Canadiens et Canadiennes, si souvent victimes de meurtre.
  • Elle a le mandat d’informer le public, d’aider les collectivités à se guérir des traumatismes, de rétablir la confiance du public à l’égard des institutions qui ont subi de graves préjudices aux yeux des Canadiens, et de formuler des recommandations de mesures à prendre et de réformes aux politiques visant la mise en place de réels changements pour assurer la protection, la spiritualité, l’honneur et l’autonomie des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones.

 

Qu’est-ce que les familles et les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones ayant été victimes de violence pourront partager?

  • Les commissaires veulent que les familles et les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones ayant été victimes de violence puissent raconter leurs récits de nombreuses façons, notamment dans le cadre d’activités officielles de témoignage.
  • L’Enquête nationale acceptera également des œuvres d’art, des écrits, des scripts, des vidéos, des histoires orales et de nombreux autres documents qui racontent les récits des femmes, des filles et des 2SLBTQ autochtones disparues et assassinées et des autres personnes qui ont été victimes de violence, ainsi que les enjeux.

 

Comment les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones disparues et assassinées seront-elles honorées?

  • Cette question est une partie importante du mandat de l’Enquête nationale. Afin d’honorer les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ que nous avons perdues, l’Enquête nationale veut entendre le point de vue des peuples autochtones et de la population canadienne.
  • Comment aimeriez-VOUS que les femmes, les filles et les 2SLBTQ autochtones soient honorées?
  • Veuillez utiliser notre site Web pour nous faire part de vos idées.