## A Statement on International Day of the World's Indigenous Peoples



Thursday, August 9, 2018

The National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls would like to acknowledge the United Nations for their continued effort in creating space where Indigenous Peoples are equal.

This year's theme, Indigenous peoples' migration and movement, acknowledges the underlying facts that many Indigenous Peoples are forced off their traditional lands for many reasons while others will migrate between countries to escape conflict.

The Commissioners commend the organization for honouring Indigenous Peoples today with a special ceremony at the United Nations Headquarters in New York City. The ceremony can be found on their livestream: <a href="http://webtv.un.org/">http://webtv.un.org/</a>.

In December 1994, the United Nations passed a resolution declaring August 9 the International Day of the World's Indigenous Peoples. The date was chosen to honour the first meeting that occurred on August 9, 1982 to protect the human rights of Indigenous Peoples.

Here at home, the International Day of the World's Indigenous Peoples presents us with an opportunity to share our history with all Canadians, and that includes the systemic and root causes of violence affecting Indigenous Women, Girls, and 2SLGBTQQIA individuals.

We also encourage all Canadians to actively support the work of the National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls, and its efforts to ensure that Indigenous women, girls and 2SLGBTQQIA peoples can live safely in their communities.

To understand more about the important work of the National Inquiry, you can start by viewing some short video clips of testimony from our hearings held this past spring at: <a href="http://www.mmiwg-ffada.ca/video-clips/">http://www.mmiwg-ffada.ca/video-clips/</a>.

Together we will find the truth, honour the truth and give life to the truth.

Kinana'skomitinnow-ow,

Tshinashkumitnau,

Chi-meegwetch,

**Nakurmiik** 

**Marion Buller** 

Chief Commissioner

Michèle Audette

Commissioner

Brian Eyolfson

Brix Golsen

Commissioner

**Qajaq Robinson** 

Commissioner